Roles and permissions¶
FiftyOne Teams is built for collaboration, with the goal of making it as easy as possible for engineers, data scientists, and stakeholders to work together to build high quality datasets and computer vision models.
Accordingly, FiftyOne Teams gives you the flexibility to configure user roles and fine-grained permissions so that you can safely and securly collaborate both inside and outside your organization at all stages of your workflows.
This page introduces the basic roles and permissions available in FiftyOne Teams.
FiftyOne Teams has four user roles: Admin, Member, Collaborator, and Guest.
Admins can access user management features by clicking on their account icon in the upper-right of the FiftyOne Teams App and navigating to the “Settings > Team” page:
Admins can invite new users by clicking on “Invite people”, as shown below. Invited users will receive an email invitation with a link to accept the invitation.
Invited users may login using any identity provider that has been enabled on your deployment. Contact your Voxel51 CS engineer for more information about configuring IdPs.
Admins have full access to all of an organization’s datasets and can create, edit, and delete any dataset.
Admins can also invite or remove users from the organization and change any other user’s roles, including promoting/demoting users to admins.
Members can create new datasets and can be granted any desired level of permission on existing datasets. Members may also have a default access level to datasets that use this feature.
Members do not have the ability to see or manage an organization’s users.
Collaborators only have access to datasets to which they have been specifically granted access (a dataset’s default access level does not apply to Collaborators), and they may only be granted Can view or Can edit access to datasets.
Collaborators cannot create new datasets, clone existing datasets, or view other users of the deployment. Collaborators may export datasets to which they’ve been granted access.
Guests only have access to datasets to which they have been specifically granted access (a dataset’s default access level does not apply to Guests), and they may only be granted Can view access to datasets.
Guests cannot create new datasets, clone existing datasets, export datasets, or view other users of the deployment.
Admins and users with the Can manage permission on a dataset can configure a dataset’s permissions under the dataset’s Manage tab in the FiftyOne Teams App.
A user’s permissions on a dataset is the maximum of their permissions from the following sources:
Admins implicitly have full access to all datasets
Members have the dataset’s default access level
Users may be granted specific access to the dataset
All datasets have a default access level, which defines a minimum permission level that all Members have on the dataset.
A dataset’s default access level can be set to No access, Can view, Can edit, or Can manage as shown below:
Default access level only applies to Members. Guests and Collaborators must be granted specific access to datasets.
People with access¶
Authorized users can grant specific access to a dataset using the “People with access” section shown below. To give access to an existing user, simply click “Grant access” and select the user from the dropdown:
The following permissions are available to each user role:
Members may be granted Can view, Can edit, or Can manage permissions
Collaborators may be granted Can view or Can edit permissions
Guests may be granted Can view permissions
Authorized users can use the “Grant access” workflow to give Can view or Can edit access to a dataset to an email address that is not yet a user of a FiftyOne Teams deployment.
When the invitation is accepted, the user will become a Guest or Collaborator (depending on whether Can view or Can edit access was granted, respectively), and an Admin can upgrade this user to another role if desired via the Team Settings page.
If a user has no access to a dataset, the dataset will not appear in the user’s search results or show on their dataset listing page. Any direct links to this dataset that the user attempts to open will show a 404 page.
A user with Can view permissions on a dataset can find the dataset from their dataset listing page.
Users with Can view permissions cannot modify the dataset in any way, for example by adding or removing samples, tags, annotation runs, brain runs, etc.
Members (but not Guests or Collaborators) with Can view access to a dataset may clone the dataset.
A user with Can edit permissions on a dataset has all permissions from Can view and, in addition, can modify the dataset, including:
Adding, editing, and deleting samples
Adding, editing, and deleting tags
Adding and deleting annotation runs, brain runs, etc.
Deleting a dataset requires the Can manage permission.
A user with Can manage permissions on a dataset has all permissions from Can view and Can edit and, in addition, can delete the dataset and configure the permissions on the dataset of other users.
Remember that all admins can implicitly access and manage all datasets created on your team’s deployment.
Any member who creates a dataset (including cloning an existing dataset or view) will be gratned Can manage permissions on the new dataset.